Sin and Error Pining

In College Church this semester we are talking about some of the essentials to the faith.  Last week we talked about creation and this week we will be talking about sin and its effect on creation.  As I have been doing my prep work for the sermon this week, I am reminded of the song lyric from my favorite Christmas song O Holy Night that says:

Long lay the world in sin and error pining
Until He appeared and the soul felt its worth

Because I wanted to be sure I had a clear understanding of the word pining here I went and looked it up and decided I should post it for you:

pine 2 (pn)

v.pined, pin·ing, pines
v.intr.

1. To feel a lingering, often nostalgic desire.
2. To wither or waste away from longing or grief: pined away and died.
v.tr.Archaic

To grieve or mourn for.
n.Archaic

Intense longing or grief.
Now, I am specifically interested in the more archaic definitions here especially as this song was written by Adolphe Adam in 1847.  So what we have here is a lyric that basically states that the world lay mourning its sin until the advent of Jesus.  It goes onto say that in His coming,  the soul finds its worth.  I can’t help but wonder how many people out there are struggling with the whole sin and error pining thing and are unable to find forgiveness, healing, redemption, or reconciliation because they have not acknowledged that the soul finds its worth…truthfully its very identity in Christ.
Just a thought…perhaps more to come.

 


Leave a comment